Hunger and Hope

In honor of this day I am re-posting a previous poem that I feel is appropriate to the occasion. I hope that this is not a cop-out. It probably is, and I will probably write a new piece to go with the occasion, but it is 11:35PM on “Bloggers Unite For Hunger and Hope” day and I want to post something before midnight and I want it to be good. Is it because I care or because I am vain? I do not know the answer. I eat one meal a day and live on trail mix and beef jerky the rest of the time lately. I know what it is to hunger, and I know what it is to hope against all odds. I have lived from day to day not knowing where my next meal will come from. I have eaten from trash cans. I have been homeless and destitute. Still, I have never starved, nor suffered from exposure beyond my body’s ability to bear in health. So here are a few words of hope and hunger for a better, more just world.

“I will Sing You a Dream”

Archetypal images
arising in my thoughts
dancing in my dreams
From whence do they come?
To what do they speak?
These answers I know
within myself
They are my own
they speak to me
Handed down
from my ancestors
from the dawn of man
and before there was time
The dream is speaking
It has it’s own language
speaks it’s own truth
follows it’s own design

These things I know
I cannot tell you how
or why
but if you take my hand
I will show you
I will sing you a dream
I will play the heartbeat on my drum
fill the shadows with my violin
paint the sky with my voice
I will fill the void with my flute
and raise the tide with sound of digiridoo

This dream I will paint for you
I will build a bridge for you
to walk across
between the worlds
as I am carried along
the dreamer and the dream
entwined as one
I will dream a path
as the path dreams me

10 comments on “Hunger and Hope

  1. Rich Becker says:

    Jim,

    I love the work.

    Best,
    Rich

  2. tanya says:

    the whole poem was lovely but i especially enjoyed the closing segment.
    t

  3. Leofina Jane says:

    this is lovely. enjoyed reading.:-)

    Leofina Jane´s last blog post..Prism

  4. Jim, good to see your heartfelt poem for “Bloggers Unite For Hunger and Hope”. It is so touching and the imageries are quite unusual.

    Some of my favorite lines from your poem are:

    I will sing you a dream
    I will play the heartbeat on my drum

    This dream I will paint for you
    I will build a bridge for you
    to walk across
    between the worlds

    I will dream a path
    as the path dreams me

    Very nice imageries! Keep up your good work!

    ~Dib

    Dibyendra Hyoju´s last blog post..Don’t forget to live

  5. miamor says:

    the dreamer and the dream
    entwined as one
    I will dream a path
    as the path dreams me …

    very powerful and meaningful….

  6. tegoirrarne says:

    nice answers i like it

Leave a Reply

