The Woman and the Child

The woman and the child
how have they become so disregarded?
What is wrong with our world today
that life
and the bearer of life
are last in line?
Please do not think me ignorant or unrealistic
I know that this is not a new development
It’s just that
I stopped by Bloggers Unite
and found that today
is a day
to speak of such things
Think on it
if you will
Our future as a species
Our status as thinking and self-reflecting beings
Our connection with all of life
Third stone from the sun
Be kind
Take care
Remember what it means to “husband”
and aspire to deserve the term of “father”

7 comments on “The Woman and the Child

  1. jimspaulding says:

    RT @tweetmeme The Woman and the Child | Poetry: The Form of Sound Reloaded http://bit.ly/iaUoL

    This comment was originally posted on Twitter

  2. Teresa Silverthorn says:

    Reading your words of integrity, remind me that I don’t visit your site enough. Thank you for these sincere words, from your heart.

    Teresa Silverthorn´s last blog post..A Visit With A Sufi

  3. Thank you Teresa,
    Your words are very kind. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed this piece.
    Jim

  4. Soegianto says:

    Hi Jim,

    Nice poems, let all of us be connected to fight against poverty, hunger….

    have my own poems, it’s written based on the story when Jesus feed 5000 man with 2 loaves and 5 fishes…

    God, when I see many malnourished children in Indonesia
    It ever moved me to cry
    It ever moved me to pray
    Hoping You would hear
    But I shut my ears
    For You have answered
    But I am lazy to hear

    For I have heard the story
    Now, I am going and seeking
    What is the best of mine?
    Would be blessed by Him
    through the simple of mine
    be a blessing for them

    Gbu

    Soegianto´s last blog post..United against Hunger!

  5. Soegianto,
    Thank you. Yes, let us all be connected to raise life up in dignity and health. I wish that I could read the original of your poem as I think a little was lost in translation. Thank you for sharing it here.
    Jim

  6. LLnL says:

    That was really moving. Simple and profound that’s the way I like my poetry. I have yet to visit Blogger Unite but your words make me care before I even know what it is. Thank you for sharing your heart.

  7. LLnL,
    You’re welcome. Thank you for your kind words. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed this piece.
    Jim

Leave a Reply

