I Was So Excited…

(second draft, with a special thanks to Ieuan and Brad at the Poets.org Forum)

“When the Water Did Not Come”

When the water did not come
through my acequia
on Tuesday, as expected

I went out into my backyard
and turned on my hose
so I could start

I made a lovely ditch
with my new hoe
The first of many channels

The water flowed
from my hose
a taste from my well
of what is to come

The dry, clay soil
drank thirstily of what I offered
dreaming of the river

(first draft)

I was so excited…
When the water did not come
I went out into the back yard
and turned on the hose
so I could start

I made a lovely ditch
with my new hoe
The first of many channels

The water flowed
from my hose
a taste from my well
of what is to come

The dry, clay soil
drank thirstily of what I offered
dreaming of the river

9 comments on “I Was So Excited…

  1. LLnL says:

    I need to look for poetic opportunities in everything I do. I’m excited about spring too.

    Gardening imagery,cool poem.

  2. Thanks LLnL,
    I’m glad you enjoyed the piece and found some inspiration in it. The poem is a true story. It must have looked pretty hilarious, but I really enjoyed myself and made a lovely ditch while I was at it:)

  3. jimspaulding says:

    RT @tweetmeme I Was So Excited… | Poetry: The Form of Sound Reloaded http://bit.ly/xpO4T. Poem about irrigation ditches. Southwest style:)

    This comment was originally posted on Twitter

  4. soulMerlin says:

    The truth does shine through. I love the simple enjoyment of making a ditch…and your last lines are inspiring and fun.

    xhenry

    soulMerlin´s last blog post..a tale of two plants

  5. Thanks Henry. I’m glad you enjoyed this piece.:)

  6. BelleCrioni says:

    http://tinyurl.com/d29p8x
    I Was So Excited…

    This comment was originally posted on Twitter

  7. annclansys says:

    http://tinyurl.com/d29p8x
    I Was So Excited…

    This comment was originally posted on Twitter

  8. Really sad and hopeful at the same time 🙂 Sheri

Leave a Reply

