Poetry Reloaded and Code

To all of my readers, especially those of you who subscribe to this feed:  My apologies for all of the drastic changes and loss of data recently.  My curiosity has gotten the better of me as of late and I managed to corrupt my WordPress install beyond my ability to repair it.  I learned a great deal in the process though, which was the point, so that is good.   I have always believed the saying “Code is poetry.” since I first saw it being written.  Recently I have had a more firsthand experience through my own dabblings in my cPanel and I am hooked.  It is not a metaphor or a simile: Code is poetry.  Period.  I thought getting hooked on haiku was bad but I fear that this is far worse.  How many new languages must I learn?  CSS, HTML, JavaScript, understanding the proper use of .htaccess, config files, Etags, CDNs, max age: headers, Sprites… ad infinitum.  Fascinating.  I will still continue to write in rhythym and rhyme, verse and haiku, but I have had a taste of the vast poetry of code and I cannot resist its allure.  Alas, who was it that said:  “To be a poet is not a profession, but a condition.”?

4 comments on “Poetry Reloaded and Code

  1. john maszka says:

    White, Straight Male in a “Feminist’s” World
    By
    John Maszka

    Once again, she ignores me—calling on everyone else, just not me.
    She waits for someone else to speak…Anyone at all; as long as they’re female or gay or a different color than me. Even when she acknowledges me, she tells me to wait and then never allows me to speak.
    I don’t know why I even try.
    I’m invisible and yet still, she targets me with isolation.
    She’s obviously very angry,
    Her passive-aggression gives her away.
    “Did you have your hand up?” She asks the others but never me.
    “Do you have something to add?” Words I’ll never hear.
    Not here anyway.
    My opinion is not welcome.
    My offense has nothing to do with what I’ve done, and everything to do with what I am.
    I’m a white male—
    And heterosexual too!
    I might as well be a leper!
    “Unclean!”
    Ostracized by the “feminist” who claims to champion the unempowered;
    but she uses her position of power to oppress and silence.
    Her thin veil of hypocrisy, yellow like her teeth, barely conceals her cowardice.
    Are you the “son of a Swan?”
    or the abandoned offspring of a harpy?
    The goddess Diana resents your name.
    You preach about ethics, but look what you do.
    You’re not a feminist, you’re a liar—and the worst kind…
    Pretending to be a victim as you wipe the blood from your lips.

  2. John Maszka says:

    Hey Jim,

    Thanks again for hosting my poetry. Feel free to come by my site some time.

    John

Leave a Reply

